Putin declares martial law in annexed areas: What you should know

Russian President Vladimir Putin has signed a decree imposing martial law in four “annexed” regions of Ukraine – Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhia and Kherson.
Putin’s decree, announced on Wednesday, also gave additional power to authorities in Russian border regions and comes after a string of battlefield defeats.
“We are working on solving very complex large-scale tasks to ensure security and protect the future of Russia,” Putin said.
The decree allowed greater ability to limit movement to, from and within the areas and allows for the residents of those territories to be moved to “safe zones”.

Al Jazeera’s Mohammed Vall reports from Moscow, Russia.

Subscribe to our channel http://bit.ly/AJSubscribe
Follow us on Twitter https://twitter.com/AJEnglish
Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/aljazeera
Check our website: http://www.aljazeera.com/
Check out our Instagram page: https://www.instagram.com/aljazeeraenglish/

#UkraineWar #Russia #Putin #Donetsk #Luhansk #Kherson #Zaporizhzhia #Ukraine

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *